His opportunity to fly and dream

Gerry Otis Simpson found the right place for his gallery-boutique on Del Paso Boulevard. Photo by Anne Stokes

Well-known artist and designer Gerry Otis Simpson showcases his work in gallery-boutique

BY ALLEN PIERLEONI

Amid the art gallery’s organized chaos of color-saturated paintings, denim “artwear,” stark black-and-white photos and assorted curios is one particular item that succinctly reflects the owner’s philosophy. It’s a black T-shirt with two words printed on the front: “Unapologetically me.”

That would be self-taught painter-photographer-fashion designer-actor-singer-writer-teacher Gerry Otis Simpson (“GOS,” his initials, for short), who as a child “had this dream that I wanted to talk to the world.”

He’s done a fine job of that, culminating in his 5-year-old GOS Art Gallery Studio. Simpson calls it a “galletique” – part art gallery, part fashion boutique.

How did he get here? “Walking up and down Del Paso Boulevard [in the early years], I wanted to be part of what makes it come alive,” he said. “Artists belong in the street and it’s important to be around the people.”

Simpson has long been all over the Sacramento arts scene. Most recently, he hosted a 9-month-long poetry series at his gallery, opened a show at the SMUD Art Gallery, was inducted into the California Arts Council, and appeared in a Celebration Arts production of “Macbeth.” That’s for starters.

His many honors include a Fashion Icon Award from the California Film Festival and California Fashion Week, and an Iris Award from the Elk Grove Arts Commission.

His works – including his handmade artwear clothing, largely denim – have shown at dozens of venues, including the Crocker Art Museum. “I’ve heard if you don’t use the talents you’re given, it’s a sin, and I’m trying get through life without sinning,” he said.